Shortlist announced for 2014 Writers Trust Awards'

Thursday, October 09, 2014

Eight Canadian authors and publishers had the best wake-up call they’ve had in a while—they were  named to the 2014 Writers’ Trust Awards shortlist.

This year’s shortlist was announced Oct. 1 over breakfast at Toronto’s Ben McNally Books and included nominees for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and the Writers’ Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize.

All five nominees for this year’s Fiction Prize are also Access Copyright affiliates. Congratulations to:

  • Andre Alexis, Pastoral (Coach House Books)
  • Steven Galloway, The Confabulist (Random House Canada)
  • K.D. Miller, All Saints (Biblioasis)
  • Carrie Snyder, Girl Runner (House of Anansi)
  • Miriam Toews, All My Puny Sorrows (Random House Canada)

The three nominees for the Journey Prize, recognizing the best short story by a Canadian, are Tyler Keevil, Lori McNulty and Clea Young.

Winners of both awards will be announced on Nov. 4 in at the CBC’s Glenn Gould Studios in Toronto. In addition, the winners of four other literary prizes administered by the Writers’ Trust of Canada will be unveiled, including the first Latner Writers’ Trust Prize for Poetry.  All told, over $100,000 in prize money will be awarded to Canadian authors.

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter